We are red rock and rangelands.

About Us

Located at Southern Utah University, the Range Club has been around as long as we’ve had a range program. As an official student chapter of the Society for Range Management (SRM), we provide students with opportunities to develop skills, network, and have fun.

Club events are designed to help prepare students for careers in Rangeland Management. These include training on how to prepare for the Pathways program and opportunities to meet field professionals.

Some of our biggest events of the year are our biannual trips to the SRM section meetings. All club members get a chance to participate in a plant identification contest and in the Undergraduate Range Management Exam (URME).

Regular club meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month from 6-7 pm in SC122. We also hold practice for the plant id competition every Thursday from 6-8 pm in SCA303.


Aside from regular meetings, we also help organize various professional development activities. These can range from events like helping out with scientific studies to participating in range tours and workshops. This year, we planted seedlings on Cedar Mountain as part of an aspen regeneration study.

We also host multiple events just for fun. Every year at the Cedar City Heritage Festival, we compete in the Dutch oven cook-off. The last two years, we’ve even won first place with one of our dishes. We also host an ice fishing derby every spring that’s open to all that are interested.


SRM Meetings

As an official chapter of the SRM, all club members are invited to attend SRM state and national meetings. Meetings provide a chance to network with potential employers, participate in the plant id and URME competitions, and just get out and have fun. Speak to Randall Violett if you are interested in going to any of the SRM chapter meetings.

Date(s) Location Link
10/23/2019 – 10/24/2019 Cheyenne, WY WY/CO Section meeting
11/7/2019 – 11/8/2019 Cedar City, UT Utah Section save the date
2/16/2020 – 2/20/2020 Denver, CO Annual Meeting Website





President Cory Farnsworth


Vice President Trevor Williams


Secretary Taylor Moosman


Treasurer Sadie Leyba


Advisor Randall Violett